Casio-ctk731| ac-input not working

Reaction score
Dear people of the internet

I've owned this casio keyboard for a while now and it used to be from my father. The pin that is found on the jack in the back of the keyboard was broken off and got stuck in the adapter ac plug. I was hesitant to repair the ac jack but after a few years of paying and playing on batteries i decided to order the same connector and a new adapter to try and fix my keyboard.

After soldering the new one in place and plugging in the adapter which has a specification of 12V, 1.5A and 18W of course it didn't turn on. (It's not because of sloppy soldering) I checked with a multimeter after plugging the adapter in and there seems to be 12V over the ac jack. There also seems to be 12V over the transformer. The diodes give a reading of 0.4V. I have limited electronics knowledge so i won't get any further than this. It's also not because the entire board is fried because the keyboard still works perfectly fine on batteries.

Is there anyone that could help with this problem or any solutions? I'd be happy for a solution that uses the dc connection from the batteries.

I'll leave the schematic for the keyboard below:

And my email if you want to contact me personally:

(e-mail address removed)

Reaction score
Its a nearly 30 yo keyboard valued today at a $200 replacement cost. Might be better off looking for another one and using the current one for parts replacement.

Reaction score
Its a nearly 30 yo keyboard valued today at a $200 replacement cost. Might be better off looking for another one and using the current one for parts replacement.
Thanks for the interesting reply i'll definitely keep this as a last resort. But i really want to try and fix it no matter what. As long as it works and i can't fix it i guess i'll just keep playing on batteries. Thanks for the reply!

Cosmos

Initial Gain 🎹
Reaction score
Dear people of the internet