Understanding the Various Types of Synthesis

Reaction score
Over the last few months, I have been taking the time to learn about different types of synthesis. I was able to obtain a PDF of FM Theory & Applications by Dr. John Chowning, which I am finding very helpful. Obviously, YouTube had plenty to offer as well. I would be interested to hear how others learned synthesis and what helped them understand it.

I have a Montage M8x, which I am really enjoying. I am also moving my makeshift studio into another room that we have just rebuilt, so now I will have a proper dedicated space. I am really looking forward to expanding my knowledge. Those who know me will be aware that I have been on a dream quest for some time. Unfortunately, everything was put on the back burner as I had a death in the family (my mother). I am based in the US, but I am originally from the UK, so it was far from easy... anyway, life goes on!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I studied electrotechnology back in college.Take a 2 or 3 year program at any community college and you'll understand waveforms up the yin yang.

Or just pick up a guide to Fourier Series and Laplace Transforms and you will become a synth engineer :D :D :D

Reaction score
I studied electrotechnology back in college.Take a 2 or 3 year program at any community college and you'll understand waveforms up the yin yang.

Or just pick up a guide to Fourier Series and Laplace Transforms and you will become a synth engineer :D :D :D
Yeah... that ain't happening. BUT, I am finding many titles out there that can help (some are hard to find) although some others you can get for free via PDF which is great! I have started with FM, supposingly that is the hardest so if I can crack that I have a chance with subtractive, granular & others...

Reaction score
Seems like this book is coming up frequently - "The Fourier Transform and Its Applications" by Ronald N. Bracewell

Reaction score