Ketron SD2 Live

Reaction score
For clarity, I shall use abbreviations:

Roland = Roland A-49 Midi Controller
Ketron = Ketron SD2 Sound Module

In the spring, I studied possibilities of how my Roland could control my Ketron, taking advantage of its patches conveniently. The problem was that banks/
programs – which I'll call patches – can be changed manually from the Roland, but it takes too many buttons. Live performance needs instant change to a series of predetermined patches. Following suggestions, I bought an Ipad and installed Set List Maker. It might have worked had I gotten a MIDI Hub instead of using my USB-MIDI Converter, but after trying unsuccessfully for a couple of days and seeing that patches were not changing, I returned the iPad to Apple. I quit partly because as long as I was going to have a screen, I would like to also display a text file with large print (I'm age 75). In using Cakewalk in my Dell, simply pressing the down arrow opens the next track which has its own patch. I decided, therefore, to try a small computer loaded with Cakewalk, a mini keyboard, and a 20-inch ultra-slim monitor. I also built a holder to mount the screen on my keyboard stand. This is lots of stuff, so it's not as though I can recommend this approach, but it worked. Cakewalk happens to be a free download from BandLab. Downloading it was a bumpy ride, but I eventually got it. Setting it up to recognize my Ketron and Roland, and configuring the ins/outs took much trial and error, but, as I said, it worked, and now, by pressing the down arrow on a mini keyboard stuck to my Yamaha digital piano with Velcro, I can move through predetermined patches, or even drag tracks (patches) to a new order. The set up looks somewhat like a cockpit, so maybe I should wear a Red Baron cap and goggles.
Cockpit.JPG

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
As long as your system and setup work for you in the way you want or need, that's what really matters! :)

Reaction score