Recording Tracks on DGX

Reaction score
I am a newbie on the DGX, as well as playing keyboard/piano.

I've gone through the manual about recording individual tracks, and the styles.

I wanted to experiment with recording a song, with a style, including the intro, ending and Main A and Main b, then record other instruments on different tracks.

I set everything up: voice, style, song to record to, tempo, ACMP-Intro, etc. But when I press the REC+01, it does seem to indicate it will record to A (which would be the style), and Track 1. But, it wipes out ACMP, and when I start the recording it plays the Intro, not continuing with the style. I an assuming that is because ACMP turned off. Tried it a couple times with same results.

Is what I'm trying to do not possible?

I will add that after that experience, I set it to record the style to A, and nothing else, then played the song to record to 1, and that worked. I'd like to get it all to record to 1 and A, including the intro/ending etc if I can, in 1 pass.

Any thought appreciated.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I think the DGX is a lot like the PSR-E as far as the MIDI recording functions.

You should be able to record using two different approaches:

(1) Record your keyboard playing and the accompaniment at the same time.

(2) Record to just a specific track.

It sounds like maybe you're using the first method twice, such that the second time it's wiping out (recording over) the accompaniment track that you'd already recorded the first time.

What you need to do, once you've already recorded to the A track, is make sure any additional tracks you record are being done using the second method, so the existing accompaniment track-- and any other tracks you have already recorded-- will be preserved.

See the section if the manual that starts on page 44, especially the section on page 46.

Reaction score
I think the DGX is a lot like the PSR-E as far as the MIDI recording functions.