Yamaha e323 MIDI setup

Reaction score
Hello! I am new to MIDI, and so I am trying to connect my Casio DH-100 Saxophone to my Yamaha e323 keypboard via MIDI, and although it is working, I am only getting the voice of the Grand Piano (Voice #1) coming out of the keyboard. I would like to get the Tenor Sax voice (#63). How can I do that? Apparently I need to change the program channel number to say # 67, but I can't figure out how to do it. Any suggestions please? Thanks!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this will work, but try it and see...

Connect the DH-100 to your PSR-E323 and play it. You should get the Grand Piano voice.

Next, select whichever keyboard voice you actually want to use, and play some keys on the keyboard to verify that they're using the voice you selected. (The DH-100 will still sound like a Grand Piano.)

Now press and hold the VOICE button for a couple of seconds, which activates the "SONG MELODY VOICE" feature (see page 52 of the Owner's Manual). If it works, the DH-100 should now use the selected voice.

If it doesn't work, I have another idea that might.

Reaction score
Thanks a lot for replying so fast!!! I tried it, and when I press and hold the Voice button, it does not go to " Song Melody Voice" (does not change). But this feature works normally when I am not using MIDI. Still getting the Grand Piano voice when I play my saxophone.

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score
What happens if you put the keyboard into SONG mode first? That is, press SONG and select one of the built-in songs as though you are going to play it, but don't actually start the playback. Then select the desired voice, activate the Song Melody Voice feature, and see if the notes from the DH-100 play using the selected voice.

Reaction score
Yessss! It works! Not exactly in the same sequence as you mentioned, but kept trying until I got the Sax Voice out of the keyboard. Thank you very much!

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score