New to Roland/playing keyboards

Reaction score
Hello,

I just bought a used Roland Fantom, and I really love it. I can't really play, but I feel this instrument will really serve me well in my music. I have been playing guitar for over 40 years, but I have always been intreged by synths because of Rush primarily at any early age. I also bought a Korg Trinity 15-16 years ago, but sold it because it didn't really feel right. I never properly learned guitar when I was young due to being poor. I'm mainly ear trained. I didn't want to do that with learning keys. I have started watching vidoes on YT that start with beginner stuff and go through theory. I want to do it right, and hopefully some of it will even help on guitar. Is there anything you, as a new player find that has really kick started your playing knowledge? I have already picked up my major/minor chords, 5 chords, and 7th chords. I know how to read notes (VERY slowly) on sheet music, and can SLOWLY do major and minor scales. I just can't retain enough of what I learn right now. I think the problem is my guitar past. I'm able to understand what is being said because of my past with guitar, but due to the way I learned guitar even though I get what is being said, it is still new information to my brain.

Thanks for any advice.

IMG_2141.jpg

Reaction score